P.U.S.H: Prayer in Action

Have you ever asked God to help you pass an exam with flying colours when you haven’t even revised for it?  Have you ever asked God to help you get a job, meanwhile you haven’t applied for anything but you’ve enjoyed 3 seasons of Scandal in 3 weeks? Have you ever asked God for a miracle yet continued to doubt his omnipotence?

To be honest, I think we will be lying if we state that we are not guilty for at least one of these scenarios. But I’m here to let you know that it’s time to wake up and be proactive. It’s time to push, until, something, happens.

In the same way, faith by itself, if it is not accompanied by action, is dead

(James 2:17)

This is truly deep, because remember that “without faith it is impossible to please God” Hebrews 11:6. Nevertheless, without action you will not yield results. Let’s be real. If God did grant you success when you did not actively do anything will He be doing you a favour. Let me answer that, no. For the reason that “whoever spares the rod, hates their children, but the one who loves their children is careful to discipline them” Proverbs 13:24. Therefore, in order for us to learn vital lessons in life like; hard work, self discipline, perseverance, motivation etc. Sometimes God will leave you to fail because you failed to be obedient to His word and accompany action with your faith. As a result, he will teach you a life lesson.

Don’t ever say but I thought you said your “plans are to prosper and not to harm ” me. Jeremiah 29:11. Or you said that I should not “be anxious for anything but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let my request be made known to” you Philippians 4:6. And I did make my request known to you, but you let me down and broke your promise. Before you even utter those words or allow those thoughts to enter your mind. Evaluate your actions and consider whether or not you played your part. Remember that your faith in God’s word has to be accompanied by hard work and physical action.

I’m going to be vulnerable here. Over the past few months I have truly been learning a life lesson. I have come to the realisation that I was taking advantage of God’s promises. I was expecting so much from God yet failing to do my part. I lost sight of the fact that God and I are a team. And in the same way that I expect him to fulfil his promises over my life, he expects me to be obedient to His word. And sometimes, it’s so easy to fall into the trap of going to God only when you need something, to the point where it’s so hard to get out of that trap because it becomes a lifestyle. But something happened to me recently, I won’t disclose it yet because I don’t think its time.. but that situation will always serve as a reminder to me of how much I need God and how much I also need to roll up my sleeves rather than leave God to do all the work.

14-032037-how_to_correctly_roll_up_your_sleeves_basics

To sum it all up, when I’m talking about prayer in action. I am talking about working HARD but praying HARDER. Prayer is not the only variable in the equation. Don’t get me wrong, it is a key variable but so is hard work therefore action. Truly pray until something happens, and work until you see a change. Until you see progress. Until you see the results you are hoping for.

It’s not easy. But just keep praying until you see the results.  Don’t stop because you don’t see a change yet. Because remember that God’s timing is the best timing, not yours. So just because you don’t see any results, it doesn’t mean something isn’t happening. Just be patient. But be active in your patience. And you shall see results!

5 thoughts on “P.U.S.H: Prayer in Action

Leave a Reply

